Manship House Museum
*In July 2010, the Manship House Museum closed for repairs to the building's foundation. The reopening date has not yet been announced. The home of Charles Henry Manship, Civil War mayor of Jackson, and his large family has been restored as a museum depicting life in Mississippi in the mid-19th century. The house was built in Gothic Revival cottage style in 1857, and was unpretentious compared to the mansions for which the south is so famous. Today the house still stands in its original setting of trees and shrubs, painted in its original olive and cream colour with an authentic shingled roof. Manship was a decorative painter and craftsman and much of the interior features his handiwork, all restored or reproduced. The rooms have been furnished with some original objects.
Address: 420 East Fortification Street
Telephone: (601) 961 4724
Opening times: In July 2010, the Manship House Museum closed for repairs to the building's foundation. The expected timeline for the restoration project was 18 months, but the museum has not yet reopened