Old Fort William
Visitors can travel back in time to 1815 at an authentic duplicate of Old Fort William, the inland headquarters of the North West Company of Montreal, located at Thunder Bay just nine miles (14km) upstream from the site of the original fort on the bank of the Kaministiquia River. The North American fur trade is a part of Canada’s colourful past that has been brought to life at the fort, with recreations of the characters, sounds, sights and smells of the operating fort as it would have been almost two centuries ago. The sprawling 20-acre site contains more than 42 fully-equipped historic buildings to be explored, among the assortment of fort inhabitants who include Ojibwa Natives, Scots gentlemen, French Canadian voyagers, craftsmen and farm labourers, dressed in period costume and busy with their daily chores.
Telephone: (807) 473 2344
Opening times: Open daily, from 10am to 5pm. In Winter, tours are by reservation only
Admission: C$12 (adults), C$9 (youths). C$7.50 for everyone between October and May