Cathedral of the Holy Ghost
One out of a handful Minsk's remaining historic buildings, the Cathedral of the Holy Ghost dates back to 1642 when it was built at the convent of the Bernadine nuns. Like the city itself, the Cathedral has a chequered history: damaged by fire in 1741, it served as a prison run by the Russian authorities until the 1870s, when it became a Russian Orthodox Church. The Bolsheviks closed it down to establish a fitness hall for firefighters. Today it is once again open for services and visitors, and is one of the city's prime attractions with its remarkable collection of icons from the Moscow Academic School. The collection includes the Icon of the Mother of God, according to legend discovered in the river in Minsk in 1500, allegedly made by St Luke the Evangelist.
Address: 3 Cyril and Methodius Street
Telephone: (17) 227 6609