Australian Open Tennis Championships

What started out as the Australasian Championships in 1905 has become what is known today as the Australian Open. It has been staged at six different venues: New Zealand, Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide, Brisbane and Perth. Since 1972, the tournament has been held every year at Melbourne Park. The Australian Open is one of the four tennis championships that make up the 'Grand Slam,' along with the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, making the tournament a prestigious event for the top tennis professionals. Although the tournament was originally played on grass, two hard court surfaces are now used. The Australian Open is second only to the US for attendance numbers and is a very popular tournament with spectators.

Venue: Melbourne Park

Date: 18 - 31 January 2016

Website: www.australianopen.com