world cup 2010 and driving a hire car around South Africa
  • I am going with my wife to RSA for the world cup and want to drive around South Africa from Johanasburg to burbin to cape town, I am an experianced driver and have driven in over 20 countries, My question is "How save is it to drive in South Africa?" IE Security, I here so many bad things happen in Johanasburg for instance.Is it safe in the country side?.
  • Hi Keith

Driving in South Africa is quite safe, and I often recommend self-drive itineraries for my clients. It is easier to get around and you can be flexible in your planning. We drive on the left hand side of the road here (as in the UK). All our roads are in good condition and well sign posted. Getting to/from football matches, you may find it easier to use the public transport available, however, driving in the country side (i.e.: Johannesburg to Durban) will be easy going.

Johannesburg does have a bad reputation for car theft and hijackings, unfortunately. I would not let this deter you from hiring a car though. Remember to lock your doors, and in general, always be vigilant of your surroundings. Some areas of Johannesburg are better than others, so this also depends on where you stay.
  • Keith - it is safe to drive in South Africa, especially once you reach the open road. The quality of the roads and signage is excellent. Your biggest danger is other drivers, especialy minibus taxis that drive recklessly. In big cities, drive defensively - which means drive slowly, expect other drivers to stupid things, and be vigilant - and know your route by using a GPS or planning ahead with a good map.

This is a good destination to self-drive. Lovely scenery and cheap petrol help as well!