Single American female going to Luanda Angola for business
  • I have an opportunity to go to Luanda, Angola for business. I work in the oil industry. I am an American female that speaks no Portuguese... Does this sound crazy? I've read the travel advisories posted by the state department. Doesn't sound too bad. I wouldn't be wandering around on my own. I am pretty travel savvy and wouldn't put myself in a bad situation... I don't have to go on this trip, but I think it would be sooo interesting. Does anyone know if there is a lot of anti-American sentiment there? Is it a terrible idea to go there without knowing any Portuguese? Thanks.
  • Any American females who have been to Luanda out there?
  • There is little or no anti-American sentiment in Angola. The US Dollar is the local currency, and the business community will almost all speak English. Many parts of Luanda and Angola in general are still very "third-world".

As you are a savvy woman traveller, I can only re-iterate this general advice:
    1. Do not take public transport - even taxis - ever
    2. Take accommodation in an American/European ex-patriate enclosed area if one exists
    3. Do not venture off the beaten path to adventurist areas, there are still a lot of land mines.
    4. Learn SOME Portuguese: yes, no, please, thank you, etc... It will purchase you some good will.

Good luck and kind regards,
    Pauline
  • Hi there, I am a born Angolan South African. I speak both English and Portuguese very fluently. I am also contemplaiting moving to Angola for business. Maybe we could parter with each other. I have been to Angola 5 times already. Let me know. My email address is jorgedealmeida@pigott-associates.com
  • hey there, am a Cameroonian , i live and do business in Dubai , wana travel for business in Angola , cant speak Portuguse but very ok in English and French.
    need a partner around during my stay in Luanda