Bolivares to US dollars
  • I just got back from Venezuela. I live in the US. I came back with quite a few bolivares that I"d like to exchange back to dollars but I'm having a hard time finding a place that would do this exchange. Does anyone have a suggestion of a place that is willing to exchnage this money to dollars?

thanks!
  • Call the Bolivian embassy in DC (202) 483-4410. Otherwise find a city with a Bolivian expat community and make the change there. Seriously though, is it worth it? How much did you bring back. If its less than $50 just keep it as a souvenir or use it next time you're in the area.
  • thanks for the comment. I meant more like Bolivares (currency used in Venezuela). I brought back more than $400 but I will eitherway follow up the same steps as you mentioned above. thanks. Although not sure anymore if there's an embassy here since the politics between the 2 countries arent in their best interests these days
  • I'm a CPA in Los Angeles, and travel to Venezuela, and will buy your Bolivares. My email address is Steve@WillingMoserCPAs.com
  • What kind of currency is best to use in Venezuela Margarita Island... do they accept US dollars locally?
  • I live in Venezuela and its illegal to change Bolivares to Dollars (or any other currency) because of the currency controls here in the country imposed by Hugo Chavez. If you changed your money to Bsf here in Venezuela the only way to get rid of them is to sell them on the black market at a very different rate than what you bought them for. Otherwise, consider it a learning experience. Dollars, Euros and all hard currencies are like gold dust in this country.....hard to find and expensive when you do find them.
  • Hi my names many I have almost 62,000 bolivares and not sure where I could exchanged them to us dollars any suggestions here's my email mannifresh88@yahoo.com