Working/holiday in Canada
  • Hey all, ive recently been thinking about travelling abroad. I've spoken to quite a few people in my trade about doing so, i am a qualified chef, i've also got my bar license and some experience. At first i was unsure of where i would travel, but im almost settled on Canada. I've seen companies advertising in working at "summer camps" and "winter ski season", I was thinking that perhaps i could go over for next summer 2011, and stay for the winter doing chefing.

If anyone has any experiences that may give me insight or help that would be great, any good companies/agencies? Places to go? What i would be expecting to earn? Any and all information is welcomed thanks!
  • hi Aaron im in a same situation bru but can u help me as well if u can
  • Hi Aaron! As a former immigrant to Canada and a Canadian citizen, I can advise you one thing, don;t go to Canada. Chefs are not valued as in European and other countries. Salaries are not that good and yet, prices are rocket high. Canada is really overpriced. Food, public transportation, alcohol, entertainment, museums, etc. are times more expensive in comparison to Spain, Austria, France. The climate on the other hand is terrible. If you want a great summer, go to Spain. If you want to work in a winter ski resort, France, Switzerland and Austria are much better options.