Marriage in Tunisia
  • I'm meeting my Algerian fiance in Tunisia and we're staying at a resort. First since we aren't legally married yet will it be a problem the travel agent said it wouldn't. I'm a Canadian permanent resident with a Caribbean passport and him his Algerian passport. We though maybe we would do our legal marriage in Tunisia instead of Algeria in the Sahara like planned since we would be on vacation and it could be our honeymoon also. What documents to we need if we can even get married in Tunisia or should we just wait for our marriage authorization in Algeria. All the information is already greatly appreciated. Thanks
  • Janet - the law states here that a foreigner and a Tunisian who are not legally married may not share a hotel room. I don't know if this extends to other Islamic country citizens who travel to Tunisia but my guess is that it might so you must check with the hotel that they allow this. You will need a lot of documentation if you wish to marry in Tunisia. You will need:

Original birth certificate not older than 21 days before the date of your marriage - this must be translated into French/Arabic
    Certificate of no impediment - this is from your embassy stating that there is no cause that you cannot be married - translated
    Passport and translation of bio page again translated
    If you have been married previously you will need the original of your divorce - translated

Your fiance will need at the least:

Original birth certificate
    ID card
    Family book (if that's possible)

I don't actually know what else he will need. He may need to contact the Tunisian embassy to find out exactly. The birth certificates here always are updated for life events such as marriage, divorce etc so he needs to check.