Where to teach English in Asia
  • Hello, I am an ESL teacher with a bit of experience and a TEFL cert. If i moved to Asia what is the best place to teach English? What pays the most or where could i save the most money? What advice can I get about teaching there?
  • Ok, a lot of options to teach in Asia, here are some tips. In east Asia Japan, Taiwan, and especially Korea or the big money makers. These also tend to be the least fun and the most expensive.

It is normal there on year long contracts for the school to pay for air tickets and for shared accommodation. Some repay your air ticket after a year contract is up. Schools vary greatly in quality so get as much info from teachers as possible about them before hand.

In south East Asia, Thailand is over-run with teachers and although fun doesn't make as much money as other destinations. Cambodia is largely limited to Phnom Phen with upwards of $10 an hour. Vietnam is a good bet for your buck. Within Hanoi or Saigon wages are about $20 dollars an hour and it is easy to save money. Most Asian countries are in need of teachers but most others are more for the cultural experience rather than for a good job.
  • Vietnam may be one of the hidden jewels of the English teaching world. You do not have to commit yourself to a year long contract, like many other countries and the income you earn can allow you to live a very comfortable lifestyle. Most teachers are very happy about their life in Vietnam.
    You can stay in hotels for as low as $5-10 US/night in HCMC while you look for an apartment for around $120-$200 US/month. When you compare this to Japan, where you can easily spend $80-100/day looking for a place to work and live, this is a bargain.
  • Hi endsplit - how do the salaries in Vietnam compare to other Asian countries?