Need help regarding romance with young Ghanian man
  • I need some major help. Have met a man from Ghana who, now admits, that he is a scammer. I fell in love with him and he claims that he is totally in love with me. He has now provided his true identity, and we want to meet. I am a professional white woman 70 years young. He tells me that he is 30 years old. He wants me to come to Ghana to meet him and wants us to stay together at a hotel in Accra. He said he also wants me to meet his family. I don't think that this sounds safe at all and told him so. It is very disappointing though as I REALLY do want to meet him as he has become the love of my life. I told him that he could come to the United States where I live, but that he would have to obtain his own visa and passport. I told him that I would reimburse him for that and plane fare when he arrived, but only with proper documentation. He explained that he is too poor to do this, and I believe it. My question is: would it be safe for me to go to Ghana all by myself and no one here really knowing where I am at - and being in a hotel room alone with my on-line lover during the duration of my stay which would be about a week. I know all this sounds too unreal - but I really need help and advise. My head is telling me one thing and my heart another. He lives in Achimota near Accra. Thank you!! I would be MOST greatful for advise.
  • Have some common sense! YES think with your head not your heart. First right off the bat given that this person has now told you that he is a scammer -- a thief is a better word for him you still are communicating with him. Hopefully you haven't sent any money but if you have please don't send him any more.

Do not go to Ghana and above all if you go to travel insure someone close to you knows where and what you are doing and a planned way to get in touch with you.