Do I need a Visa for Dublin?
  • Hi to everyone!
    I'm Chinese but I live in Italy with an italian recidence permit.On May,I have to go to Dublin for a school trip but I don't Know If I need a Visa or not.Can you help me ,please?Thanks
  • It'urgent!>.<
  • You only have an Italian residence permit not Italian citizenship therefore as a Chinese passport holder you do need a visa to visit Dublin, You must apply for your visa at the Irish Embassy in Rome http://www.ambasciata-irlanda.it/home/index.aspx?id=29957
  • But it's a school trip that will take only one week.It doesn't make any difference?
  • It does not matter if its for one day , you are a Chinese citizen and require a visa to enter Ireland.
  • ok,thank you
  • A few hours ago I found this www.ehow.com/facts_5147451_countries-need-visa-travel-ireland.html .There is written that if I'm a permanent or valid resident of Ireland or the EU,I don't need a visa to land in Ireland.

• I see you are not satisfied with my answer and think that EHow is somehow linked to the Irish government
    The Irish government have a waiver scheme, but it does not pertain to EU country residents. Here are the visa requirements and if you dont believe them I suggest you telephone the Irish Embassy rather than trawling the internet

• XinY:

eHow is not in any way an authoritative site. I'd rather listen to Alethia's more reliable information.
  • I'm really thankful to you for answering my question, but still I had some doubt .So I sent a letter to the italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and they told me '' ...A Member State shall not request a visa for school pupils that are not nationals of a Member State but legally residing in another Member Country AND do seek to travel for short stay purposes. The following conditions apply:

1. students hold a valid travel document recognised by the country of destination
    2. within a school excursion/trip, the student is part of a group of students from a general school