American citizen living in Japan - visa for Bangladesh?
  • I am a resident of Japan but I carry a US passport. I went to the Bangladesh Embassy in Tokyo to apply for a visa, but I required additional forms that weren't specified on the website.
    The employee recommended that I wait to get a visa upon arrival in Dhaka. She said I could pay USD50 at the airport (It is JPY14,000 from here, almost USD150) and use the application form and photographs I already had.
    Online, though, I find different information regarding this.
    I have an onward ticket and sufficient funds. I will be arriving by plane from India. I don't have time to arrange a visa from Japan at this point (although I will be visiting United Arab Emirates, Kenya, Rwanda and India before arriving in Bangladesh if anything can be done there..). I plan to stay for 5 days in Chittagong (to visit the Asian University for Women, although I have not been officially 'invited').

Any idea whether I will be able to get a visa upon landing or landing permission? Or any advice on how to increase my chances, paperwork that might be helpful, etc?

Thanks a lot!!!
  • Hi Arwen,